Through a Different Lens – 10 Ways Photography Has Changed my Life

IMG_9759

For as long as I can remember, I have loved pictures. When I was little, I would spend hours pouring over old family photo albums, memorizing the framed pictures around the house, and eventually taking my own pictures. I can vividly remember the time in fourth grade when my parents gave me a disposable camera to take with on our trip to Washington DC. As we trekked around the monuments and memorials of DC, I snapped pictures of any and every sight that interested me. IMG_0163

I remember begging my parents to buy me a digital camera for Christmas, and eventually receiving my prized possession. I had my very own clunky Canon that was eventually replaced by another slightly less clunky Canon digital camera freshman year of high school. My point and shoot cameras worked great for a while, but eventually I outgrew the limited features and upgraded to a Canon Rebel T3i DSLR camera.IMG_9829

Photography has changed my life – more specifically, it has changed the way I live my life and how I look at the world around me. I have never taken any photography classes, and by no means do I consider myself an expert – I’m just a girl with a camera and a love for capturing the world around me. Photography is more than just a hobby for me – it’s a lifestyle, and a passion. It’s what makes me tick, and what gets me starry eyed and dreaming.

In our modern technological society, snapping a quick photo on your iPhone a putting it on social media is ridiculously easy. Anyone with a phone has instant access to some kind of camera. I’ve always loved taking pictures, but getting my DSLR has dramatically increased my passion for viewing the world through the lens of my camera. It sounds dramatic to say that photography has changed my life, but it honestly has, in more ways than I could have ever imagined.


1. Look

Photography has taught me to constantly take in my surroundings, whether or not I actually have my camera with me (which is a rare occasion). I used to just blindly walk through my daily routine, but now I am constantly looking around me – for the unique and beautiful moments of each and every day. Nothing is too mundane to be beautiful – sometimes you just have to look for it.

A family walking along the beach in Marco Island, Florida
A family walking along the beach in Marco Island, Florida
Walking the streets of New York City
Walking the streets of New York City

2. Detail

As I have learned to look at the world around me, I have also begun to zoom in on the small details. This summer I purchased a macro lens, which has allowed me to photograph the little details and textures I encounter each and every day. I am constantly amazed by the intricate details I am able to capture on the camera. Ordinary objects become extraordinary when viewed through a macro lens.

IMG_9409
Basil Leaves
Photographing the textures of Chinatown in Chicago
Photographing the textures of Chinatown in Chicago

3. Perspective

I find that I can photograph similar objects and settings over and over again, just as long as I capture them from a new perspective. Every setting can make for a beautiful photo if taken from an interesting angle. This skill transfers to my every day life in a profound way: I can look for a fresh perspective on a situation, no matter the circumstances.

IMG_2674
Lincoln Memorial, Washington DC
St. Patrick's Cathedral, NYC
St. Patrick’s Cathedral, NYC

4. Focus

Photography is not all about the end product. Yes, making sure a photograph is in focus is crucial, but there is more to photography than the final photo. A photographer needs to focus on the equipment (tripod, batteries, remote shutter release, lens hood, etc.), his/her surroundings, and the subject of the photo. The process of taking the photo is just as important as the photo itself, and it takes just as much focus. I’ve learned the ability to patiently focus on the task at hand, and enjoy every moment of it.

IMG_0829

5. Moment

With photography, every second counts – one second can make the difference between an incredible action shot and a blurry shape on the screen. No second can be taken for granted. These moments are what differentiate the good photographers from the great photographers. I haven’t even come close to mastering the elusive skill of timing, but I have learned that each second is crucial and should not be taken lightly.

IMG_3924
Classic jumping picture- definitely my favorite action shot
IMG_0449
A photo taken at just the right second, right as a bird was flying overhead

6. Learn

I readily admit that I am a complete amateur in the field of photography. I am constantly learning new skills and techniques, and I will most likely still be learning for the rest of my life. Honestly, there are features of my camera that I still have no idea how to use correctly. Slowly but surely, I am learning to venture into the manual modes of my Canon. Photography is a journey, a challenge, and a process. Learning is not confined to a classroom – learning is a part of life.

Learning to use the "bulb" mode on my camera, as well as my new remote shutter release
Learning to use the “bulb” mode on my camera, as well as my new remote shutter release

7. Dedicate

When I find myself getting bored or “stuck” with my photography, I look to my master list of photography project ideas that I’ve compiled throughout the summer. I am currently 24 days into a 365 day photo project. Taking a photo a day for an entire year that also fits into my theme of “look down” has taken extreme dedication. Sometimes I don’t feel motivated or inspired to take my daily photo, but I snap a photo anyways. In order to keep myself accountable, I downloaded an app that keeps all of my photos organized and sends me reminders to take my daily photo. I also created an Instagram account for my project (@rthomasphotos) and have been posting each day as an act of accountability.

.IMG_3841IMG_3919 IMG_3878 IMG_3801

8. Travel

I have always had a love of adventure and travel, and photography has given me even more reason to want to see new parts of the world. As I visit new locations, I have the privilege of capturing the interesting and beautiful sights I encounter there. When I visit places I’ve previously seen, I challenge myself to capture that location from a fresh perspective. Every adventure is full of photos just waiting to be taken.

The Vietnam War Veterans Memorial, Washington DC
The Vietnam Veterans Memorial, Washington DC
The Korean War Veteran's Memorial, Washington DC
The Korean War Veteran’s Memorial, Washington DC

9. Light

Lighting is critical for a photographer, and can truly make or break a photo. A sunset is more than a simple daily occurrence – it’s an opportunity. An opportunity to capture ordinary settings with extraordinary colors and lightings. Lighting creates the difference between illumination and contrast, and the possibilities are endless. I often plan my entire evening around capturing that night’s sunset. I willingly wake up early in order to photograph the sun as it casts its first light of the day.

IMG_2512 IMG_5022 IMG_8734 IMG_3402 IMG_3882 IMG_0549 IMG_0914IMG_8599

10. Appreciate

When I have my camera around my neck, I find myself appreciating every smile, laugh, sunset, animal, window, and on and on. I see life differently- I’ve found that I appreciate each day and moment more than ever before. The world becomes bigger as I capture its smallest moments. Photography has helped me to appreciate my life, and has ultimately made it better. With my camera, anything is possible.

IMG_3814
Having fun with my cousin’s golden retriever Brady

In the eight months that I’ve had my DSLR camera, my life has changed profoundly. I view the world through a different lens (both literally and figuratively), and I can’t wait to see where this journey takes me next.

~Rachel

Leave a comment